Good Vibrations

10 Sep

While I was at work today, I started thinking of something that I could put as a new post in this blog. Then, out of nowhere, one of my favorite co-workers came running up to me holding something above his head. He said, “What is our store coming to? Look at what we are carrying now!” Say hello to one of the most recent editions to the “Family Planning” section of our store:

You’ve got to be kidding me! I think we stood there hysterically laughing for about ten minutes because we came up with this elaborate plan to have our store make this item the new “upsell” for the month. Hah!

But seriously, if I have to ring this up to an old lady with some personal lubricant it is going to be very hard for me to just not start laughing out loud. A few years ago, I read in a Cosmo magazine that it was completely frowned upon to even buy such things in public. Now, when walking around the Family Planning section at our store, there are enough sex accessories to open a small adult store. All we need is some furry handcuffs, some whips, and some pleather eight inch hooker heels.  My bet is that this is quickly going to become the item in our store with the most shrinkage.

I’d love to know: What do YOU think about the plethora of sex items in the family planning aisles these days? As a customer/employee, does it make you feel uncomfortable or does it give you that same kind of uncontrollable laughter that most of us experience as kids while in church?

I know this is a short entry…but I should be doing work. I just couldn’t help but post this! Either way, I think our store certainly has a new “vibe” to it.

8 Responses to “Good Vibrations”

  1. Adam September 10, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

    It’s just a vibrator. It’s actually a pretty nice marketing strategy. A vibrator at the pharmacy is one of those key items that make somebody say, “Well if I can find a vibrator here, I wonder what ELSE I can find that I wouldn’t expect to see at a pharmacy?”, thus, drawing them back to the store and increasing revenue.

    • Retail Robot September 10, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

      It is “just a vibrator,” but for some reason it seems really out of place at our store. Also, I disagree…I think it’s a very inefficient product to put in. Why? Because shrinkage from most pharmacies is like 80% condoms, lubricant, and pregnancy tests. If this item is the store, it is probably going to be stolen more than bought just because 1) it’s easy to do, 2) it’s a more expensive item, and 3) some people are just embarrassed to buy it. With that being said, it is a high-theft item that is taking up shelf space for another product that would be potentially less of a high-theft item and would bring in the store more money. We shall see if this ends up getting stolen a lot!

  2. mightydustbunny September 21, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    Anything in the GM department is worth stealing. For some odd reason, my store has only some of the condoms out and then whatever is not out, the box has a sticker saying, “Take this to service desk to purchase,” we don’t get too many people buying them but I’ve had two come and purchase some. We usually keep them locked up at our service desk, but they came to my checkstand, so I had to run all the way to the service desk, get the keys, and unlock it. We also keep heartburn medicines, diet pills/weight aids (That I understand) and toothbrushes (the electrical ones that cost over $20).

  3. alonewithcats September 27, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    The vibrator says it’s waterproof, so maybe it should go in the seasonal aisle instead.

  4. Vodka and Ground Beef September 27, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    Hi-larious!!! I love that your store is selling this now. One item on my bucket list is “to walk out of a regular store with a male blow-up doll.”

    • Retail Robot September 27, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

      Haha well we probably *will* be selling blow-up dolls soon…just wait! It doesn’t seem that far-fetched now. Thank you for reading! ^_^

Leave a Reply

